Home > Uncategorized > Thanks to CIMA for allowing me to present…

Thanks to CIMA for allowing me to present…

For a full hour and a half on “the wider aspects of credit management”. Really enjoyed and a good turnout of around 50.

Holiday Inn  Gatwick was a very nice venue too…

Practice makes perfect with presentations and I felt a lot more relaxed than when presenting to the ACCA (who I am returning to in April), but I was reminded yet again of a few points

1. Keep Powerpoint to no more than prompts. Do without it of you can. People listen or watch but rarely do both at same time. I want the audience to listen to me rather than stare blankly at some pointless pie chart

2. Use anecdotes. I find they come to mind when im talking and theres no real need to overrehearse. An audience always prefers to hear examples (which are far better with a humourous edge) than theory

3. Watch the audience and if they are shufflng in seats, yawning or reading the Blackberry, move on ….

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

